Dine-In, Tucker’s Place South

http://www.tuckersplacestl.com/
Tucker's Place South on Urbanspoon
Sorry. No pics this round.

Drive far enough down Morganford Road in Southtown, you pass a building lost in the ‘70’s, with Cheers style awnings and interior décor that would put a pencil-moustachio’d gentleman’s study to shame: Tucker’s Place South. The place was packed with Hawai’ian (proper spelling, people) shirt wearing, overbearing cologne-touting retirees comfortably chopping their cow and disdainfully looking around the room at the clutter of other intruding people. The place had barely enough room to wade through the tables and not bump both hips as you went, and I got more than one disgusted look from patrons due to my simply walking through the place.

Their official slogan is “The Place for Steaks.” I’m going out on a limb and say no, it isn’t. Doing steaks right means you order a medium rare steak and it isn’t gristle-rubbery. It means you cut into it and you find something inside besides a dry dull grey, like stormclouds on an autumn day. Their potatoes were okay, their limp salads were okay, but their entire existence is based around the protein of the meal. And when you get that wrong, you get it all wrong.

Not my style food, not my style place. I wouldn’t mind the atmosphere if the food struck home. If the one thing they said they did right actually came out properly, I would overlook every ounce of early ‘70’s stained vintage flavor. I would say the evening was fair with a slight headwind, a perfect temperature hovering around 80, and that unharried feel of a casual dining experience on a patio where they did steaks right.

On the website they tout the greatness of the house lemon pepper salad dressing; I had it on my salad, and in the proper amount, it’d be decent. In the end I was wringing limp lettuce leaves from a lemon pepper soup. I wouldn’t put it on my chops, either, but perhaps they know something I don’t about cooking lemon pepper steaks.

Potatoes tasted fine.

It’s also one of a chain of three in the greater St. Louis area. I can’t vouch for the others, but given the stale atmosphere and flavor of a 16 buck, middle-of-the-road steak, I got subpar everything. Bland. I’ll leave Tuckers to the natives. I’ll visit nearby Penn Station before I hit this place up again.

Dine-In, Tucker’s Place South

2 thoughts on “Dine-In, Tucker’s Place South

  1. Amy says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who feels this way about Tuckers! I have never had a meal there that was memorable in a positive way. Everyone RAVES over them–would rather go to Applebees and that’s sad!

    1. I’d normally just settle on the place not being to my “taste,” but they don’t even know how to prepare a steak properly. Even if someone asked me to give Tuckers another chance, I could think of two or three other restaurants off the top of my head for a better steak. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment